Maths

I came across this maths professor Edward Frenkel (UC Berkeley) He seems interesting, in the sense of someone like Marcus du Sautoy (Oxford) and Brian Cox (Manchester). I recall E. Ho, who went on exchange at the university to study maths, mentioning that Terry Tao wasn’t as “good” as he thought he was. I have no comment on that. I saw MK Siu (HKU), who taught my AL Pure Maths teacher Mr J. Pun, on 13 June, coincidentally James Clerk Maxwell’s birthday – Siu mentioned the young Maxwell’s writings on oval curves when I mentioned my entry at Maths in the City – and he’s very interested in the history of mathematics and mathematical pedagogy. J. seemed impressed when I told him about the encounter. If only I work harder, I’ll join their ranks too.

Leave a Reply

